Sabriel

518848

Sabriel

Author: Garth Nix
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: September 30, 1996
Paperback: 491 pages
ISBN: 0064471837

Book summary:

Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him. She soon finds companions in Mogget, a cat whose aloof manner barely conceals its malevolent spirit, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage long imprisoned by magic, now free in body but still trapped by painful memories. As the three travel deep into the Old Kingdom, threats mount on all sides. And every step brings them closer to a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death—and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own destiny.
With Sabriel, the first installment in the Abhorsen trilogy, Garth Nix exploded onto the fantasy scene as a rising star, in a novel that takes readers to a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

Review:
Absolutely Amazing! At first I was confused about what was going on but as I kept reading I was able to follow it better. It is definitely an adventure story and exciting to read what is going to happen next. Sabriel surprised me. I assumed she knew everything and it would be a quick search for her father, but that was not the case. While she knew some things that she was taught, the Old Kingdom was a new world to her. She grew up in a boarding school in Ancelstierre which seems like a completely different world. She was pretty much learning as she went on her journey and ends up learning many things about herself along the way. I also liked the characters introduced in the book because they served a purpose and there was something about them that added to the book which helped Sabriel on her journey.

This classic story should be read by everyone. There is adventure, some mystery, and surprisingly a love story without being one, if you read between the lines or pick up on the characters feelings. The story is not overly dramatized about anything and there is enough mystery and magic to keep you wanting to read more.

2 thoughts on “Sabriel

  1. This series is a comfort read for me, I love getting absorbed into the world and often pull it off the shelf; yes that’s the other part of the comfort; it is one of my books not on my kindle or ipad but the printed version. I love my e readers but also like to snuggle with one of my old favourites now and again and this trilogy is one of my favourites.

    Like

    • I agree. Some books are only meant to be read as a printed copy and this is definitely one of those books. Thank you for letting me know how much you enjoy this trilogy because now I am excited to read the second book. I always worry that they are not as good as the first book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

