The Raven

18965316

 

 

Author: Sylvain Reynard
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery, Romance
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Publication Date: February 3, 2015
Paperback: 496 pages
ISBN: 9780425266496

 

Book summary:

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Gabriel Series comes a dark, sensual tale of romance in a city shrouded in mystery…

Raven Wood spends her days at Florence’s Uffizi Gallery restoring fine works of Renaissance art. But an innocent walk home after an evening with friends changes her life forever. When she intervenes in the senseless beating of a homeless man, his attackers turn on her, dragging her into an alley. Raven is only semi-conscious when their assault is interrupted by a cacophony of growls followed by her attacker’s screams. Mercifully, she blacks out, but not before catching a glimpse of a shadowy figure who whispers to her…

Cassita vulneratus.

When Raven awakes, she is inexplicably changed. She returns to the Uffizi, but no one recognizes her and more disturbingly, she discovers that she’s been absent an entire week. With no recollection of the events leading up to her disappearance, Raven also learns that her absence coincides with one of the largest robberies in Uffizi history – the theft of a set of priceless Botticelli illustrations. When the baffled police force identifies her as its prime suspect, Raven is desperate to clear her name. She seeks out one of Florence’s wealthiest and elusive men in an attempt to uncover the truth about her disappearance. Their encounter leads Raven to a dark underworld whose inhabitants kill to keep their secrets…

Review:

I came into this book having no expectations and end up really enjoying the story.

Raven has a past that haunts her every day when she walks but can never escape. Then all of a sudden a week is missing from her life. She cannot remember anything and on top of that, her physical attributes have changed. As she reappears, she is under investigation since a couple of Uffizi’s art pieces disappeared the same night that she went missing. Unbeknownst to Raven, she has caught the attention of a very powerful vampire.

This quote in the book really pulled on my heartstrings, “For a long time, I thought love was not for me. Men who noticed me were few and far between. Almost all of them just became friends with me. You changed my mind. You changed my world. I started believing that maybe someone could love me and I could love him in return. I felt hope, William. You gave me that.” These two people have gone through so much in their lives. Although covered in secrets and the thought that love was not in their cards, they have hope that maybe they belong together. Only there is a problem, they have keep each other a secret or they might just lose their lives, or worse.

This book surprised me. I was not expecting the story to be as great as it ended up turning out to be. As I kept reading, the story was getting harder and harder to put down. The only problem I have with the book is the ending. If you read the entire book you would know what I am talking about. Big steps have been taken to get the characters to where they are and then William goes and does what he does best, keep his promises. Except this is one that Raven does not see coming. I keep asking myself how she will react to what he has done and how the story will go. There are many paths the author can take with this ending. So I am super excited to read what happens next in the second book.

A love story full of obstacles set in Florence. Who would not fall in love? Special thanks in winning this book through goodreads giveaway.

Leave a Reply

